• >
  • Housing Design Awards - Calling for outstanding projects

Housing Design Awards - Calling for outstanding projects

Every year the Housing Design Awards are demonstrating best practice in housing design and by doing so effectively establish new standards in what good sustainable housing looks like. Wood for Good are proud to sponsor the awards again in 2018. You can help drive the agenda for building better homes for the future by submitting your scheme or project by 14th March 2018.

One of the most robust housing award schemes in the country, the Housing Design Awards are celebrating their 70th birthday this year. An opportunity to point out the uniqueness of these highly acclaimed awards:

  • the only awards promoted by departments of Government and their agencies
  • linking national and local government agencies with all major built environment professions
  • judging panel composed of planners, surveyors, architects and researchers reflects the need for ideas that are both innovative and replicable 


The Housing Design Awards are the only programme to recognise schemes once they have planning approval but before they may be built or occupied. This reflects the awards focus on finding the latest ideas for how to serve a range of emerging markets, such as the Private Rented Sector and the search for liveable higher density. Some of these schemes will not be published in professional journals for years but their innovation needs to be promoted now.

To date there have been more than 1000 winning schemes, reflecting the diversity of the Awards' focus and the surge of quality in growth sectors such as homes for seniors (HAPPI award) and people having greater input into the commissioning of their homes (Custom Build).

Your scheme can be entered for submission to join the role of honour from today until 14th March.

The Housing Design Awards, run as a social enterprise, invest income from entries and events into analysis and promotion of ideas to improve and expand the country’s housing stock. Alongside awards for skill and innovation in general housing, there are special category awards championed by departments and agencies of government, such as:

  • Liveable Higher Density with Greater London Authority
  • Custom build or factory build with Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government
  • Rural Development with Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
  • HAPPI - Housing for an ageing population with Housing Learning & Improvement Network & Department of Health
  • Richard Feilden Award - Promoting great housing for all with Homes England

PLEASE NOTE: All entries to the Housing Design Awards are added to the website to create a national archive. Some winners are also filmed, complete with interviews with residents, helping to spread understanding of what impressed the multidisciplinary judging team.


To find out everything about the Housing Design Awards, please click here.

All winners 2017 can be explored here.

If you are ready to enter a scheme, you can do this online here.

Dates for your diary

14 March 2018 - deadline for submissions

25 April 2018 - shortlist to be announced

May 2018 - site visits to completed schemes

2 July 2018 - Award ceremony




Latest news



The Wood for Good Campaign is Coming to a Close

Founded 20 years ago by forestry bodies Confor and Swedish Wood, Wood for Good has aimed...
Read more



Farewell Wood for Good: Celebrating two decades of success

The Wood for Good campaign was established at the turn of the millennium, with a brief to...
Read more


View all news

Get the Wood for Good Newsletter